Homesource Forums

Homeworld Source Editing Talk
It is currently Sun Apr 23, 2017 6:53 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 3:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 6:35 am
Posts: 3
At first run both versions seems to run perfectly until I touched my mouse, the whole Program freezes for about 1sec. then it got a single timeslice and went on for a blink of an eye, then freezes again and so on. The 3D rendering is fine and quick as long as I don't do anything. It's not an issue of the Mouse (i checked it with several mice) nor the Nvidia driver (checked also against older version. I also checked sdl with some other 3d-sdl games. So I'm a little lost here. Any hint would be appreciated.

I have following Configuration:
Linux 2.6.19
NVidia Gforce 4200
nvidia 1.0-9631 (the last Version that supports my card)
sdl 1.2.11


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 6:25 pm 
Offline
coder

Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:15 am
Posts: 100
If your CPU has a Frequency-scaling capacity, try to set it at the minimum speed to increase the CPU load of homeworld. It seems to be related.

On a side note, what cpu do you have?

Hope it works for you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 10:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 6:35 am
Posts: 3
It's a AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2800+ @ 2087.500 Mhz

I tried at 1462.500Mhz but the CPU load was both times max 5% for the intro of single player. The lower speed makes things even worse.
Thanks anyway.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Slowdowns
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 10:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 9:05 pm
Posts: 9
Have noticed slowdowns with classic under XP when rotating ships in build manager, think it's some sort of problem with running on more modern machines.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 1:30 am 
Offline
coder

Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 4:40 am
Posts: 236
Hi.

Sounds identical to what I was experiencing.

I've since blown away the OS, so didn't fix the problem.

I'm fairly sure it's something to do with the NVIDIA GL drivers, but as I mentioned I cannot prove this at the moment.

We should probably raise a Mantis ticket about this though.

Aunxx


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 5:47 am 
Offline
coder

Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:15 am
Posts: 100
Yeah, I think it's also related to Nvidia Driver since I didn't have this problem until I changed the driver.

But no way to investigate...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 8:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 6:35 am
Posts: 3
Good to hear that I'm not the only one. ;)
I wanted to try even older versions of the nvidia driver (<1.0-9xxx) but besides the 1.0-7185, which is a non-glx legacy driver, I had no luck due to my new kernel. I don't want to downgrade my kernel to test it but it may be necessary. I study the huge nvidia docu, maybe I'll find some <"Option" "Do the right thing" "true"> entry there. :lol:
An officiab bug entry seems to be a good idea, as the code itself should also be partialy guilty, as I don't have any other problems with the nvidia driver.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 12:43 pm 
Offline
coder

Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 4:40 am
Posts: 236
I wonder what would happen if we used the Mesa GL driver again? I know it'd be slower but it'd probably prove if it was system of NVIDIA GL driver related.

Just a thought. :)

Aunxx


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 12:55 pm 
Offline
coder

Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:15 am
Posts: 100
I am going to test this to see the result.

It may give some interesting result :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 1:16 pm 
Offline
coder

Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:15 am
Posts: 100
Well after testing, it doesn't seems to be related to Nvidia OpenGl implementation. The game has the same behaviour under Mesa.

It may be a Amd related problem, as I don't have the bug, on my laptop which is a Intel Core based.

I am really wondering from where it comes from...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 7:13 pm 
Offline
coder

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 2:45 pm
Posts: 61
The main loop of the game essentially does two things: it calls the event handler and the task manager. The event handler is quite fast, and over 99 % of execution time is spent executing tasks. It is not clear which task is causing the slowdowns, but rndRenderTask and regProcessTask would seem to take most of the execution time according to gprof.

The task system does not handle slowdown very well: if calls to the task manager become less frequent, it starts running tasks multiple times per call to catch up, which makes the main loop run even slower. Maybe there should be a per-task parameter to indicate whether such catch-up is useful.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group